In Today’s Herald: Honky Tonkin’ It

August 29, 2007

hank.jpg

The official opening night of the 2007-2008 Temple Theatre season is Thursday, but if you’re interested you can check out a “sneak preview” of “Hank and My Honky Tonk Heroes” at the Temple tonight at 7 as a part of the “pay what you can” promotion. A minumum $5 donation will get you in the door for the evening’s final dress rehearsal.

“Hank” stars Jason Petty as Hank Williams. Susan Farrington’s profile of Petty in today’s Herald tells of the strange road Petty took to becoming the country music icon in performances of the hit show “Lost Highway” and in this particular show, which he wrote himself. Make sure you read it before booking your seats for the show.

I had the pleasure of seeing Petty in “Lost Highway” at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville many years ago. I was in town for a newspaper seminar and acted as social planner for a group of North Carolina newspaper folks, and the first night on the town we went to “Lost Highway.” I’m not a country music fan at all, but I was mesmerized and really haunted by Petty’s performance – so much so that I went back to the Ryman the next afternoon after we wrapped up seminars to take a tour and purchase a biography of Williams. I’ve got a greatest hits album of Williams on my iPod and listen to it occasionally, remembering the stories of how many of those songs were written.

“Hank and My Honky Tonk Heroes” will be performed at the Temple Thursdays-Sundays through Sept. 30th.