Today’s List: My Current iPod Playlist

dmb.jpg

The Dave Matthews Band

Taking a cue from Editor Billy Liggett, here are the most-played songs on my iPod right now…along with comments about the bands performing them. These aren’t necessarily my favorite songs…they’re just the most-played on the several playlists I have as of this moment. (Sorry, Billy, no Pearl Jam – although I am looking forward to Eddie Vedder’s soundtrack from the upcoming film, “Into the Wild.”)

Grey Street | Dave Matthews Band

American Baby | Dave Matthews Band

Two Step | Dave Matthews Band

I’m not a huge DMB fan, and dislike some of the band’s songs, but the flowing – though intricate – musicianship that characterizes this group is lovely to hear. I particularly like the last minute or so of each of these three songs.

She Is | The Fray

Dead Wrong | The Fray

The Fray’s debut album is fantastic and I like many of the songs, but particularly these two. “Dead Wrong” didn’t hit the charts, as far as I know, but it should have.

Road to Hanna | Shadowfax

I’ve been listening to Shadowfax for 20 years. The band has produced instrumental music, primarily, and “Road to Hanna” is simply a fantastic listen…a good song to hear when you’re just relaxing.

Is It Love | Mr. Mister

Mr. Mister, fronted by Richard Page, produced just a few albums. I’ve never understood why Page’s thoughful lyrics and the band’s tight instrumentation didn’t give them a longer life. So many of Mr. Mister’s songs are classic in the rock/pop genre, in my opinion. I frequently listen to the band’s albums – especially “Welcome to the Real World” – today, and the music ages wonderfully. “Is It Love” is a catchy piece that got a lot of airplay, and although it’s far from the best of the band’s songs, I’ve been listening to it a lot lately.

(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction | Devo

If you read this blog regularly, you know that “Whip It” is one my my ringtones, even though I’m not really a Devo fan. I didn’t know “Satsifaction” existed until a trip to Seattle this summer, where we visited the excellent “Experience Music Project” museum near the Space Needle. Lots of Hendrix, Paul Revere & The Raiders and grunge music displays…but also a neat interview you could watch with Devo founder Mark Mothersbaugh, who talks about traveling across country to let Mick Jagger hear Devo’s version of the Rolling Stones’ hit song before getting permission to release it. The drum lines in this song are just so cool.

Everyone Gets Older | Scandal

I still love Patti Smyth, the lead singer of Scandal. This song is on all the band’s greatest hits collections, but it’s not well known even to most lovers of 80s music. It’s just a great song.

Rock Lobster | B52s

A fun song. When you go to the beach, make sure everyone has matching towels.

Loud and Clear | The Cranberries

Animal Instinct | The Cranberries

I Really Hope | The Cranberries

Dolores O’Riordan’s voice…it simply must be heard to be believed. Crystal clear. I enjoy Irish and Celtic music, and her singing is mesmerizing.

2 Responses to Today’s List: My Current iPod Playlist

  1. Jamie says:

    Glad to see Rock Lobster on your list. When I was a swimmer (many, many years ago), that was our team’s theme song. I remember all the senior girls dancing on the pool deck as the younger girls kicked their feet on the edge of the pool. I actually have it burned on a CD that my daughter and I rock out to in the car on our daily commute.

Leave a Reply

