Nostalgic Song of the Day: “Day After Day”

220px-badfinger.jpg

Song: Day After Day
Artist: Badfinger
Year: 1971
Where I heard it: Sanford’s Yamato’s restaurant

The group Badfinger formed in the 1960s in Wales and helped popularize the “pop/rock” genre of music, developing a close relationship with the Beatles and recording seven albums in five years  before poor management and infighting led to an incredible downfall. Eventually, two band members committed suicide and the group ended up in bankruptcy.

“Day After Day, ” the band’s highest-charting single, was a soft-rock radio staple in the early 1970s. I heard it while having dinner with the family this week at Yamato’s.

In the lyrics: I remember finding out about you | Every day, my mind is all around you | Looking out from my lonely room, day after day | Bring it home, baby, make it soon | I give my love to you

Leave a Reply

