Hockey Stuff: Isles Give Simon Time Away

The New York Islanders’ Chris Simon is in trouble again after apparently trying to injure the Pittesburg Penguin’s Jarkko Ruutu Saturday by kicking him with his skate. Team owner Charles Wang released a statement today saying that Simon has been granted “some time away from the team.”

“The actions of  Chris Simon on Saturday do not reflect what the New York Islanders stand for,” Wang said. “They were reckless, potentially dangerous and against our team concept of grit, character and heart.

“We know Chris as a respected teammate and as a gracious man away from the playing surface and believe strongly that he has earned our continued support. The Islanders are going to provide some time for Chris away from the team and give him the counseling he needs and the compassion he deserves. When Chris is completely ready, he will be a member of our team again.”

Simon, in a statement released by the team, said this:

“I want to start off by making clear that there is no excuse for my actions on Saturday night and I apologize to everyone involved.

“The Islanders and I agree that the right thing to do is for me to take some time away from the team. I have enjoyed a long career achieving my dream of being a player in the National Hockey League and I’m proud of my accomplishments. But I acknowledge that time and assistance is needed before I return to the game.

“I want to thank the Islanders for providing the environment for me to become a better player and person, and our fans for their support along the way.”

Leave a Reply

