Great Stuff: iPod Touch

ipod-iphone-janupdates.jpg

iPOD TOUCH | Updates add features to cool gadget

I love gadgets, and you won’t find a more ardent fan of Apple’s iPod than me. I have almost 70 hours of music, audiobooks and Podcasts on iTunes and listen to my iPod Nano an average of probably 2 hours per day, mostly to books and Podcasts. I’ve written extensively on this blog about audiobooks and Podcasts, and can’t think of another gadget or piece of electronics that I’ve gotten more use out of than my iPods.

Last fall I talked my wife into letting me “upgrade” to the iPod “Touch.” I still use the Nano for listening, but use the Touch for watching movies and catching up on episodes of “Lost” that I’ve missed.

The Touch is essentially Apple’s iPhone – without the phone. It has all the other features of a video iPod – storing and playing music, video and photos, plus the calendar, contacts, calculator and clock features of most iPods – but adds a wireless integrated web browser as well as YouTube and iTunes applications. If you have access to Wi-Fi, you can quickly access YouTube videos and the internet, plus also quickly download music and more from iTunes.

It’s pretty cool, but what makes it “great stuff” is a recent upgrade Apple offered (for a price – $19.99) that adds five much-needed applications: e-mail, Google Maps, weather and stocks programs from Yahoo!, and a notes program. (The “upgraded” Touch screen is on the left above.) It makes the Touch truly an iPhone, just without the phone (for folks like me who want their cell phone more of a “stand-alone” device).

In addition, the Touch is now available in a 32GB version for $499; the original Touches were offered in 8GB ($299) and 16GB flavors ($399).

I haven’t tried all of the new features yet, but so far, so good…and for watching video, nothing beats it…

5 Responses to Great Stuff: iPod Touch

  1. […] Read the rest of this great post here […]

  2. […] bhorner3 wrote an interesting post today on Great Stuff: iPod TouchHere’s a quick excerptI love gadgets, and you won’t find a more ardent fan of Apple’s iPod than me. I have almost 70 hours of music, audiobooks and Podcasts on iTunes and listen to my iPod Nano an average of probably 2 hours per day, mostly to books and … […]

  3. gordonanderson says:

    Drool…

    I’m in the market for a new iPod. $500 is steep, but color me interested.

  4. […] Read the rest of this great post here […]

  5. alroethlisberger says:

    Very cool device, but I just can’t justify $300-500 for an mpeg player.

    Although somehow I can do so for a 100 year old lighting fixture. *sigh* Everyone’s priorities are certainly different! *laugh*

    Heh, I remember it just seemed like a few years ago that friends were building mobile mpeg LINUX PC kits to run in their cars and do GPS before we had these more portable multi-function gadgets. What a kludge those were! But kooky-cool in a very geek way.

    It looked like something the “Doc” in “Back to the Future” would have thrown together! 🙂

    Maybe I’ll get one on Craigslist in a couple years.

    Al

Leave a Reply

