Rock Chalk Jayhawk

The Chant on youtube: just in case you’re not familiar with it… 

DIVIDED ALLEGIANCES | Ready for Saturday’s KU-UNC showdown

I graduated from the University of Kansas. My dad, my sister and most of my dad’s family graduated from UNC-Chapel Hill. My wife’s family, despite indelible Kentucky ties and their fondness for all things Adolph Rupp, mostly pulls for UNC. So anytime the Jayhawks and the Tar Heels play, it’s a lot of fun for all of us. (Except for my son Addison, who for some reason considers himself a Wolfpacker.)

As an inveterate rooter for the underdog, and as a North Carolinian by birth, I would have had no problem seeing Davidson beat Kansas in Sunday’s NCAA Men’s Basketball regional final. I didn’t watch the game, instead spending the evening at a fantastic Casting Crowns concert at the RBC Center in Raleigh with my wife, both sons and some friends from church. Had I been home, I probably would have found myself watching. It would have been the first basketball game I’d seen all season.

I’ve written here before that after spending seven of eight semesters following KU athletics from the pressbox (in football, where we were mostly horrible, except during the Mike Gottfried years) or press row (in basketball, where we were mostly pretty good), I was conditioned to not cheer for the Jayhawks. I still don’t do much cheering. I’m proud to be a KU graduate, but I mostly associate KU sports with work; four years of going to every KU home game and countless football and men’s and women’s basketball practices and I certainly had my fill of the Jayhawks. Living here in Blue Heaven, “Rock Chalk Jayhawk” just isn’t something I think of a lot.

But after KU’s success in football this year, I must admit that I have found myself yearning for another KU-UNC basketball game. The fact that we’ll get to see one in the Final Four makes the anticipation even sweeter. I’d prefer it to be the title game, of course, but Saturday’s matchup will do. It’ll be fun for all of us in our families and for UNC fans (eager for another title) and for us KU fans (many of whom – not me – are still sore at Roy for leaving).

(By the way…to read a great column that UNC alumnus R. V. Hight shared with me about KU fans and Roy Williams, click here.)

In the meantime, check out the “Rock Chalk Jayhawk” cheer, described as the best in college history, above…or perhaps you’ll get a chance to see it Monday night…???

Leave a Reply

