Today’s List: iPod Playlist Update

In my quest to get rid of rap and promote 80s-era music, here’s my latest updated playlist…

S.O.S. | Abba
I have no idea what “Mama Mia” is all about, but there’s increased play of ABBA on the radio lately and this is one song I liked…

ONE OF OUR SUBMARINES | Thomas Dolby
He blinded us with science in the 80s…

STOMP! | The Brothers Johnson
It feels all right…what a great song.

BLUE MONDAY | Flunk
This song was on the soundtrack of a movie I saw…can’t remember the movie, but I did remember the song…

MIRACLES OUT OF NOWHERE | Kansas
One of my favorite “Kansas” songs.

MISLED | Kool & the Gang
Funk at its best.

MESSAGE IN A BOTTLE | The Police
It put The Police on the map…I’ve heard this song so much I have every one of Stewart Copeland’s percussion beats memorized. 

CUTS YOU UP | Peter Murphy
Neat music, good voice…I have no idea what he’s singing about, but it sounds cool.

FOUND OUT ABOUT YOU | Gin Blossoms
Angst never sounded so good.

A THOUSAND MILES FROM NOWHERE | Dwight Yoakam
I can’t recall ever hearing another Yoakam song, but if they’re all as good as this one, I need to find more…

2 Responses to Today’s List: iPod Playlist Update

  1. Al Roethlisberger says:

    I’m not so sure that anything ABBA is really ’80s’ music in style(although they did technically last until 1982), but I love ABBA so I’ll go with you on that 🙂

    However a few quick notes:

    – The version of ‘Blue Monday’ by Flunk is a circa 2002 cover of the indeed 1980s original of the seminal song by New Order.
    – Peter Murphy’s(ex Bauhaus) big hit ‘Cuts you up’ was released in 1990, although like any decade ending/starting year, one can argue which decade it belongs. I’ll lean with anyone that puts this song into a late 80s or transitional genre admittedly though.

    But I’m with ya in that I think we are definitely in a creative trough these last few years, at least in what is being publicly consumed and promoted. Except for a few bright spots here and there, most seems pretty derivative and/or mindless.

    Al

  2. bhorner3 says:

    Well, I said “80s-era”…I know some of this falls on either side, but you get the drift! I didn’t know that about the Flunk song. And I can’t tell you anything about “today’s music” – I guess my mom said the same thing to me 20 and 30 years ago, huh? I never thought I’d hear myself say that, but the only pre-set music station in my car is XM 80s (although I do check out XM 70s now and then)…the rest is news and hockey! I always thought it was strange for the “grown-ups” when I was a kid to prefer 50s and 60s music…now, as I turn 45 today, I guess I’m there…

Leave a Reply

